Dorothy’s Pecan Pie

Every year during the holidays, I am tasked with the responsibility of making one of my most favorite desserts from an old family recipe for get togethers: my grandmother’s pecan pie. It’s simple to make and it’s absolutely delicious!

Here’s what you’ll need to make it!

Ingredients:

1 cup pecan halves

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter

3 eggs

1/2 cup light karo

1/2 cup dark karo

1 tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

1 package of pre-made dough (or you can make your own)

Here’s how!

Preheat oven to 350. Toast pecans slightly…do not burn! Put a small amount of flour in the bottom of a 9 inch pie pan and put the pre-made dough in the pan.

Cream butter and sugar together with a mixer. Add each egg one at a time. Beat thoroughly. Add karo, vanilla, and salt. Beat until blended.

Pour the blended mixture into the unbaked pie shell. Add pecans and push into the mixture. Place some pecans on top decoratively.

Cook for 40 minutes. Raise to 400 and cook for another 10 minutes.

Pies aplenty

I have so much to be thankful for, but family is at the top of my list. It warms my heart to think that decades later, I am keeping my family traditions alive by baking recipes from the Coy family cookbook!  Thanks, Grandma!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING…from my home to yours!

xoxo,

Miss Notsocoy

Leave a Reply

